Reps consider development commissions for South-West, others

0 72

The House of Representatives is about to establish development commissions for no fewer than three geopolitical zones.

They include the South-West, South-South and the South-East.

- Advertisement -

The House is making the consideration as the Senate is also processing similar bills.

This is coming as the Niger Delta Development Commission and the North East Development Commission are already in existence.

Speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila, and 80 other lawmakers suspected to be members from Yoruba-speaking states, introduced a bill seeking to establish a South-West Development Commission.

The South West Development Commission (Establishment) Bill 2019 passed the first reading at the plenary on December 11, 2019.

The South-West geopolitical zone has six states, namely Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti.

- Advertisement -

Later on December 17, 2019, the lawmaker representing Mbaitoli/Ikeduru Federal Constituency of Imo State, Mr Henry Nwawuba, introduced the South East Development Commission (Establishment) Bill 2019, which passed the first reading.

The South-East zone has five states, namely Anambra, Enugu, Imo, Abia and Ebonyi.

In the South-South, there are six states, namely Rivers, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Delta, Edo and Bayelsa.

On December 20, 2019, the South South Development Commission (Establishment) Bill 2019 emerged in the House. It was sponsored by the lawmaker representing Andoni/Opobo/Nkoro Federal Constituency of River State, Mr Awaji-Inombek Abiante.

The SSDC would be established despite the existence of the NDDC.

- Advertisement -

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.