Fayemi, Akeredolu, Daniel, others for Osun at 30 banquet

0 46

All is set for the Osun 30th anniversary banquet and awards ceremony holding tomorrow at the WOCDIF Event Centre, Osogbo.

Prominent Nigerians, including former and serving governors, have confirmed their attendance.

- Advertisement -

Among the dignitaries who have confirmed their attendance are Nigeria Governors’ Forum Chairman and Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; Southern Governors’ Forum Chairman and Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu; ex-Ogun State governor Otunba Gbenga Daniel; former Oyo State governor Otunba Christopher Alao Akala and the Obi of Onitsha, His Royal Majesty, Igwe Alfred Achebe.

The ceremony is the last of the series of activities lined up to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the creation of Osun State, where 28 distinguished and prominent citizens of the state are expected to be honoured.

Twenty-eight distinguished citizens, under four broad categories, have been selected by a jury on the basis of their service to Osun and contributions to the global and local society. They will be honoured tomorrow.

The honorees, under the Osun Lifetime Achievement Award, include Chief Bisi Akande (former Governor of Osun State), Pastor Enoch Adeboye (General Overseer, the Redeemed Christian Church of God Worldwide), Sheikh Abdur’rasheed Hadiyatulla (President, Supreme Council for Sharia in Nigeria) and General Alani Akinrinnade rtd. (former Chief of Army Staff, Nigeria from October 1979 to April 1980, and then Chief of Defence Staff until 1981 during the Second Republic).

Others in the lifetime achievement category are Asiwaju Hammed Omidiran, Comrade Hassan Sunmonu, Prince Tunde Ponle, Prof. Olu Aina, Chief Akinwande Akinola, Joanah Olu Maduka and Dr. Benjamin Adigun.

- Advertisement -

The Osun Distinguished Citizens Award honorees include Pastor Matthew Asimolowo, Alagba Yemi Elebuibon, Brig.-Gen. Segun Ajiborisha (retired), Chief Adegboyega Awomolo, SAN, Asiwaju Khamis Olatunde Badmus, Prince Lawal Obelawo, Chief Moses Inaolaji Aboaba, Mr. Adewale Adeyemo, Mr. Kola Adeniji and Mr. Mike Awoyinfa.

The state, under the Legacy Award category, also recognises Mrs. Folorunsho Alakija (Chancellor, Osun State University and dynamic philanthropist) and Madam Susan Wenger (a culture and tourism icon).

The Osun Merit Award honorees include Emeritus Prof. Ademola Oyejide, Chief Nike Okundaye, Prof. Oye Gureje, Prof. Isaac Adewole and Mallam Yusuf Ali, SAN.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.