D’Tigress get ‘tough’ opponents for 2020 Olympic ticket

0 55

D’Tigress of Nigeria, reigning African champions, will face the United State of America (current world number one), Serbia and Mozambique in the battle for a spot at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

The draw was held at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball, FIBA headquarters on Tuesday.

- Advertisement -

The four FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournaments will take place from February 6-9, 2020 in Belgium, China, France and Serbia.

The top three teams from each of these tournaments are expected to qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

USA, the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2018 champions, and Japan, the hosts of the Olympic Games, will, however, advance through to the Tokyo 2020 Women’s Olympic Basketball Tournament regardless of their results.

The last time Nigeria met USA was at the quarter finals of the FIBA Women’s World Cup in Spain. The D’Tigress lost 41-70 points against the team that later went on to win the trophy.

Below is the FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournaments 2020 draw:

- Advertisement -

Group A – Belgrade, Serbia
Nigeria, USA, Serbia, Mozambique

Group B – Bourges, France
France, Puerto Rico, Brazil, Australia

Group C – Foshan, China
Korea, China, Great Britain, Spain

Group D – Ostend, Belgium
Canada, Japan, Sweden, Belgium

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.